The Four Essential Elements of Self Care

What is self care?

A self care regimen consists of a set of practices that we engage in for the purpose of building and nurturing our life force.

Because our organisms are made of four intimately integrated components:

  • Body
  • Mind
  • Heart
  • Spirit

A comprehensive and balanced regimen of self care must address the four following essential areas of care:

  • Physical self care - Sleeping, eating, drinking, breathing, exercising.
  • Mental self care - Organizing our life, managing our resources, learning.
  • Emotional self care - Processing our feelings and going back to center.
  • Spiritual self care - Nurturing a relationship to the mystery and to who we really are.

In upcoming blog posts I will be sharing ideas of practices that nourish each of the four components of our life force. What category of self care are you most interested in seeing addressed first?

Journaling Questions:

  • What's the strongest between my Body, Mind, Heart, and Spirit?
  • What's the weakest?
  • How would I rate my physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual self care regimen on a scale of 1-10?
  • What needs attention first? Why?
  • How am I going to improve my self care?